• Rental Property Investor
  • Williamson, GA
Votes |
Georgia Park with high extremely high vacancy

Tyler Hardy
  • Williamson, GA
Posted Dec 5 2019, 06:13

I'm a beginner to REI and I've been bitten by the mobile home bug. I've evaluated a ton of properties and even started getting an investor involved in one park so see if we can make a deal. I called on a park here in my area (that I don't think is a good enough deal to move forward on) I stumbled on another park right next door from an areal view. The first thing I noticed about the park was the large number of vacant pads and an extreme lack of cars parked next to the existing homes. I rode out and took a look for myself and I was right. This is about a 100 pad park that seams to only have around 10-15 tenants.

My first thought on this realization was, "this is a huge value add" then the numbers stated to add up in my head on costs of tear outs, remodels, marketing, utilities, and all of the other costs of in-fill. I've tracked down the phone number to the owner and I'm calling today to see if they are interested in selling. 

My question to everyone is this. Should I be concerned with such a high vacancy rate (we're talking 90%+)? I see a huge opportunity once it's filled (if bought for the right price) but I also see my expenses shooting through the roof. In my quick drive by I counted as many as 20 homes that would most likely be need to be removed and at least 20-30 vacant lots. Does anyone else see the potential I see? What questions should I be asking the owner here? Does this even sound like a park that a new investor should be going after?

User Stats

Votes
Gary Faraon
  • Kingsland, GA
Votes |
  • Kingsland, GA
Replied Dec 5 2019, 08:55

@Tyler Hardy

Greetings, the owners failed. Ask someone else. Copy someone else business plan. don't reinvent the wheel. Ask other park owners for their experience. They paid for their mistakes. why pay for the same one when you can ask and get it for free.