Conner Hitchcock
Pro Member
Votes |
NOVA and DMV Thoughts

Conner Hitchcock
Pro Member
Posted Aug 3 2022, 06:29

Hey all,

I am a new investor and current business owner!  I am getting ready to rent out my first property (townhome) by the end of August in the NOVA area (sterling).  I originally bought it as a primary residence but am transitioning up with the goals of family.  I am making this post to get a feel for what some more experienced investors are thinking in the area, I figured I'd share my perceptions and maybe someone could let me know of theirs and tell me why I could be wrong or right.  Also,  since I am a newbie, I'd love to talk with anyone in the area just to get to know some new folks as well.

My thoughts:

Most of the NOVA area is going to be difficult to make decent COC returns due to the values of the homes (especially starting with less capital). I've seen some discussions regarding the benefit of purchasing low cash flow yielding homes for the benefit of higher long term appreciation. As someone new with limited cash on hand, it either makes it a bit more difficult to get involved doe to the cost or difficult to gain momentum due to lack of cashflow to reinvest. I've thought about buying some of the less expensive condos/apartments in Reston or homes in Manassas, but between HOA and property costs it's still hard to justify.

What are your thoughts on the moving slightly south or west (moving north to MD is also an option).   Front Royal, Linden, Warrenton, Woodbridge; even going as far as Culpepper and Fredericksburg.   What pros and cons do you see?

Pros:  Lower cost to get into the game, potential for future growth with future expansion.

Cons:  Less income comparative to DC/NOVA, investing in a lesser known territory, slower growth and appreciation, less cashflow due to property value/availability/whatever local reason??

Thanks all and I look forward to connecting with you all :)

-Conner 

User Stats

Votes
Terrell Murray
Pro Member