• NJ
Votes |
Buying a fixer-upper for my first main residence in Philly

John Smith
  • NJ
Posted Dec 25 2022, 19:56

Hi all, 

I'm moving to Philly next summer. 

Looking at the properties available publicly on Zillow, Redfin, etc., I concluded that the house I like to live in is at least 850-900k somewhere around Ardmore, Narberth, Chestnut Hills, or similar areas (I do not like to live in a townhouse).

I have a 10% downpayment available for this amount but I am also qualified for a mortgage (5.7% interest) with no downpayment and no PMI. However, even with a 10% downpayment, the monthly mortgage payments + home insurance + property tax + maintenance fee for an 850k house is a bit out of my comfort zone since it's my first house (I have the money, but I really want to be conservative on the first house).

Therefore, I'm considering buying a fixer-upper of around 500k instead of a turnkey and spending ~80k on the renovation (I have no experience in flipping and this is my first home purchase ever). 

I know it will take at least 4-6 months for me (with no experience) to renovate, and will cost more than usual, but I'm counting this as the price I pay for the learning experience. 

I have two questions for you: 

1) Do you think it's a bad idea in this market given my lack of experience? 

2) Is it safe to assume that a fixer-upper in areas like Ardmore, Narberth, and Chestnut Hills that is negotiated around 500k in this market after an 80-100k renovation will be in the same shape as a turnkey that is worth 850-900k? 

I highly appreciate your input. 

User Stats

Votes
David Ramirez
Pro Member
#1 Wholesaling Contributor
  • Wholesaler
  • Tampa, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Wholesaling Contributor
  • Wholesaler
  • Tampa, FL
Replied Dec 26 2022, 07:13

Hey John,