Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Karliz Ramirez
Votes |
In need of advice

Karliz Ramirez
Posted Jan 31 2024, 21:16

Hello guys, I'm brand new in the investing world, but I'm trying to learn and educate myselfas much as I can.

I have a question or several: I currently work, I have a w2, and almost 20k saved. I rent an apartment and I'm approved for 275k for an FHA loan. Then I met An investor recently and he offered me the opportunity to invest with him in some flips that he is doing or that he might have coming up.

With the FHA I'll be putting the money as a 3% down payment and I'll rent rooms (house hacking) or with the investor I'll invest the money with a hard money loan going 50/50 with this guy. Honestly, I don't know which route to take whether to invest the money in a flip with that guy or get an FHA loan on my own and get a house since no matter what I need to find a place to live (either renting like I do or a house) or should I take the risk and do both or simply neither of the two. 😬 thanks for answering.

User Stats

Votes
Nicholas L.
Pro Member
#5 Starting Out Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Votes |
Pro Member
#5 Starting Out Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Replied Feb 1 2024, 02:10

I don't believe that brand new investors should serve as lenders

It's also extremely odd that an established investor would want money from someone who has never invested before...

User Stats

Votes
Glen Wiley
  • Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Replied Feb 1 2024, 02:45

Spend a few years learning the industry before you invest with someone. There is a lot to learn to ensure you don't get ripped off (and even then there is a risk).

Steadily logo
Steadily
|
Sponsored
America’s best-rated landlord insurance nationwide Quotes online in minutes. Single-family, fix n’ flips, short-term rentals, and more. Great prices.

User Stats

Votes
Matthew Paul#2 Contractors Contributor