Tax Assessed Value

4 Replies

Being a newbie, I thought i might pose this question to the community. I am considering investing in a very small starter house. It was 2 bedrooms, but renovations turned the 2 small bedrooms into a large one bedroom, the idea was to add an addition of a second bedroom. However the owner didn't finish and bought another property. The tax assessed value is 40k, he is asking 55K. His explanation is the tax assessors have not been out to the home since he started the renovations. It appears the ARV for the area will be around 133-148K. I believe it to be a good buy, however the tax assessed value is low. Any suggestions??? Should I be concerned??

Thanks

Zekena

Hi Kathryn,

My main concern wouldn't be about the assessed value. My main concern would be, were the renovations he did and left unfinished permitted? That could prove to be a disaster!

As far as the assessment, most likely the first year the assessed value will be what you bought the property for. Going forward it may well go up if the ARV is what you are stating. You'll need to run the numbers at the ARV value to see if they still make sense. If they do then you should be fine. (Assuming point #1 is not an issue)

Best of luck!

Eric

Thanks Eric,

Could you explain more about how that will be a disaster and how I can avoid that? Also should I add a second bedroom or will flipping a one bedroom be almost impossible??

Hi Kathryn,

If the remodel was done without a permit then when you go to sell the property it's going to show on the records that it's a 2 BR. It may not come up, however if the city/county find out that it was done without a permit then you could be required to pay fines, bring the property up to code or both. This can get very expensive.