First Deal Need Some Help

3 Replies

Well I am new to real estate and have been learning everything I can for the last month, I ran into a GREAT deal and I'm trying to get some advice on what to do.  My best friend owns a construction business so rehabbing a house will be pretty easy with this connection.

The Deal: It is in a PREMIER location in my city where most homes don't stay on the market for more then a month.   Will  be buying a house that will sell for 200-210k ( on less then a month) or rent for about 1800-2000 a month.  Sell price is 125k recon will be around 25k. 

So the question is where to start? Should I buy the home and fix it up to rent or flip it.  The reason I ask this is taxes. Going to talk to my attorney about the different options but eager to know now and maybe strike up a conversation on different ideas of how to handle the property.  My goals in real estate are to buy and hold but with this kind of opportunity I feel like I can take the 30-40k  and start buying more homes??? 

Hey Eric,

Ha I like the eagerness, I as a budding investor feel the same. I cant say which option will be better for you. Selling for a profit has some great advantages such as money up front. good for capital for next investment. There are options such as a "Stalker roll over" Its called many things but it means to take the profit and buy a similar house. This option is tax free in most cases. Anyway Problem is that "active investment" or a deal that opens and closes within a year is taxed a lot more than "passive". Also if you are not in hurry, that rent income can add up real quick IE for capital.