2% rule in NYC

9 Replies

Hi,

I'm new to real estate investing and came across the 2% rule for investment properties. I'm looking to invest in NYC (5 boroughs) and can't see how this rule of thumb applies. Purchase prices seem so much higher as to make this target seem impossible.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Lorenzo

It doesn't. A market like New York is a completely different beast than a place like Oklahoma City. In the latter, there is far more room for growth in terms of physical space which helps keep property values down. There is also far less bureaucracy and red tape around building new housing units. Because of that, a market like New York will have much higher entry costs. As a benefit, however, you're far more likely to see substantial appreciation on your property's value over the course of it's life and you're far more insulated from real estate market crashes.

The 2% rule, in my opinion, is most important to follow on properties that are priced well under the $100,000 amount because the cost to maintain and make repairs, vacancy, cap ex, etc., are of higher percentage compared to your purchase price hence the reason why you need to be at that number.   Generally speaking the 1% rule makes more sense in the top 25 markets in the US.   2% rule for more rural areas.

Darren Sager, Real Estate Agent in NJ (#0897533)
862-208-2287

Great -- thanks very much.  This is very helpful.  Even a 1% rule though seems like a lot for NYC.  Would it be imprudent to invest in anything less than this?  Thanks!

The 2% rule of thumb is derived from other assumptions.  The 50% rule, in particular.  It ONLY WORKS when rents are about $500.  As rents go up, this ratio can be lower and still produce a profitable rental.