Rentals: condominium out-of-state

14 Replies

greetings!

As a SoCal resident, I can say that purchasing and renting condominiums is no problem. As a matter of fact, arguably, it's less of a headache maintaining it.

So with that said, I was wondering how feasible purchasing rentals would be in Milwaukee, Indiana, Chicago, etc. for 25 - 40k and renting them out with the intent of positive cash-flow.  

Look forward to the responses 

It’s definitely possible here in Packerland.

My suggestions would be determine your market 

and assembly a team to assist with your investing opportunities.

Condo: Strictly cashflow opportunities

SFR: Cash flow with the hope of strong future resell value.

Jenkins Ramon, JMWPS Ventures, LLC | [email protected]

I have a client with over 100 condos on the North, West side of Milwaukee with great cash flow. He paid $15,000.00 or less for the condos and this is why they cash flow. 

Some condominiums associations have budgeting problems which leads to deferred maintenance issue. Many of the nicer condos the numbers do not work because of condo fees and many times the Owner is out of pocket.  

Medium duplexfacebookbannerMichael Henry, Vera Residential Real Estate | [email protected] | (414) 617‑1740 | http://www.verarre.com | WI Agent # 56929-90

I am from the Cleveland area, and here the condo market isn't strong for cashflow currently. SFR are much more appealing when looking at cashflow numbers, as well as 2-4 units. Condo's here don't move quickly, and the price points with the condo association fees just don't' make sense in spreadsheets.

Originally posted by @Jenkins Ramon :

Ohio market condo versus SFR : @Engelo Rumora 

Indiana for suggestions : @Sharad M.

Thanks Jenkins,

I don't know too much about condo's in Ohio except that most are selling in Columbus for 20% lower than in the peak.

SFH are lower entry prices also.

Condo's tend to be more expensive.

Thanks