Short Sale Properties

2 Replies

Hello, this is my first time posting and being on this website and I must say that I am happy I found it. Lately,  I have been dying to invest in a property. I first started looking at commercial properties but then the bank told me due to my lack of experience I will not be accepted for a commercial loan. Now I am looking at 2-4 multi-family unit homes in the Bronx (which is my idea because I believe that the Bronx is on the brink of prosperity based off of what I have been reading; I could be wrong though). I found a couple of properties but am quite hesitant because they are short-sale properties. I have a feeling I am wrong in this way of thinking, but I freak out because I believe that there is something wrong with the neighborhood (the reason why its a short sale is because there are no tenants). Is it worth it to invest in short sale properties? 

In advance, thank you to those who offer advice. I am from New York City and have my real estate license but again I'm hesitant in becoming one because of the unsteady pay and things of that nature. 

Hi Ronald,

There are definitely things you need to consider when it comes to short sales but on the other hand you can make a lot of money with them as well. 

Not all short sales mean that the property is vacant. Sometimes the seller will live in the home until the sale is complete, some will have already moved out. If the seller has moved out, and especially if it has been vacant for some time, then you definitely need to do your due diligence on the property to make sure it hasn't been vandalized, etc. Also, if a property sits vacant for a long time some of the systems, such as plumbing, can have problems that are usually easily remedied but are not always visible.