Where to go from here?

6 Replies

Greetings,

I'm a novice at investing in real estate. I'm trying to build passive income for my retirement years as I have kind of lost faith in the whole 401k thing. I've actually taken the hit of cashing out my retirment vehical (with penalty) and invested in single family homes. Currently I have two homes and am looking to purchase the third. One of my rentals is currently completely paid off. My question is after I purchase my third rental property I will be out of liquid capital. I would like to continue to grow my small yet blossoming plan. What can I do from here to continue to grow?

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Best regards !

You could refi the free and clear house and use that cash as down payment to the next few houses. You could bring in a few partners (like minded people). You could buy houses using owner finance. There's nothing that limits you from buying more except your knowledge. You expand your knowledge, you buy more houses.

VK.

Thank you VK for your response and insight. You most certainly are correct. I will definetly need to educate myself.

MG

I was also interested in a home I located that was for sale by owner. From what I could tell the home looked in good shape and was move-in ready (Although I would have to verify this impression). The property was also significantly less expensive than comparable properties in the immediate vacinity. I informed my realtor but she warned me to stay away from homes that are for sale by owner because I would have no protection. Any insight on what she is worrying about, or why one should "stay away" from homes that are for sale by owner?

Thanks

How much are you putting in your houses?