Looking to buy my first 4plex in Southern California

4 Replies

I am eagerly looking for my first 4plex in Southern California area. I would like to use an FHA 3.5% down loan to get the property and live in it for a small time period. Anyone have any prospects ???

Hashmat,

Welcome to BP.

What areas are you in search of for a 4 plex at?

I do not mind bouncing back ideas, and helping look over numbers with you.

I know that with an FHA you will be obligated to be an owner occupancy.

Originally posted by @Hashmat Amin :

I am eagerly looking for my first 4plex in Southern California area. I would like to use an FHA 3.5% down loan to get the property and live in it for a small time period. Anyone have any prospects ???

Hey Hashmat, I'm a real estate agent with high end luxury real estate firm, Sotheby's in LA. I am also indian. I believe I can help you find what find the 4plex you are looking for. I'd love to help, what number can you be reached at?

Kind Regards,

HARRY GREWAL

@Hashmat Amin

I would recommend getting prequalify with a lender first to see how much of a 4plex you can afford before you go house hunting. If this is your first time buying there are a lot of things to consider, ie: taxes, insurance, PMI, closing cost etc. Then once you know what you can afford it will narrow down where you can find a 4plex in fits your price range. If you have already done this, great. If not, I would start there before you go any further.

Best of Luck!

-John

Thanks everyone for the great advise. Harry - I am working with an agent already, I posted this on BP to see if anyone had anything under their belts. David - thank you! I will definitely keep you in mind once the right opportunity pops up. I have not yet pre-qualified for a loan and will be doing that shortly.

Does anyone have any 4-plex units that they are selling? Please let me know.

Free eBook from BiggerPockets!

Ultimate Beginner's Guide Book Cover