Houston AirBnB

16 Replies

Hello BP, 

I am looking to purchase a 1-2 bedroom apartment or condo near the Houston Medical Center.  This will be an AirBnB property catering primarily to those visiting the medical facilities.

This will be my first real estate purchase, and I am looking for suggestions on how to find a great realtor and what type of loan I should pursue.  As a veteran I could use my home loan benefit, however I don't know if this would be the best use for it.

Any help greatly appreciated,

Tom

Hi Tom,

Are you currently in the Houston area?  

Have you done any research on property managment, assuming that you are going to stay in the Philly area?

Hi Tom,

I am from Houston Texas and wanted to inform you that the majority of properties in the area you are interested in are very expensive. However, there is a light rail that runs north/south through the Medical Center. Perhaps you could find less expensive properties along that route - even some SFH. The light rail runs straight through the med center. Good Luck!

@Tom MacDonald , hi Tom. I'm a Realtor/Insurance Agent in Houston. I do know of some properties that may fit what you are looking for.

@Tom MacDonald , I could be mistaken, but I think you can only use a VA loan on a home that will be your primary residence.

Hey Tom,

I have to back @Leigh Ann Smith regarding the use of a VA loan as needing owner occupancy. Additionally, I believe AirBnB has a maximum of 180 days that you can rent a property. Just something to consider when developing your strategy.

Good luck!

-James 

@Tom MacDonald

Agree with the comment regarding the use of VA loan. I'm not familiar with the max of 180 days re Airbnb. One other thing you do need to be aware of is the regulation side. The good thing with Austin is at least the regulation is determined and there is a public information about it and the processes to pursue.

https://www.austintexas.gov/str