Scaling commission to expensive homes

12 Replies

I'm looking at buying my first home that I plan to live in.  I've bought 8 homes so far that were purchased with the purpose of renting out to other tenants.  So, I have some experience.

The rental properties cost around $100k each. I ended up negotiating to 2% buyers agent commission since I was buying a bunch of properties and wasn't using much of the agent's time.

For my home purchase, I'm looking at homes that are 2-3 million dollars.  Paying $90,000 (3%) to a buy-side broker seems insane.  Especially since I'm not even using a lot of their time.  I look for the homes I like myself on zillow and redfin.

What's a reasonable rate to pay a buy-side broker on a home this expensive?

2-3% but why would care when the seller is paying the commission.

Greg, you're wrong. The only person who is paying money in this transaction is me, the buyer.  Where do you think the seller's commission comes from?

You would negotiate your best price for the property hammer the seller on price hammer them again and then only then after your contract is signed ask for  a 1% or so rebate from each agent or you are cancelling escrow 

1. Zillow, Redfin and Trulia have extremely dated information at times. It's not runcommon to see a house that closed 30-60 days ago still on Zillow. Realtor.com is the most accurate.

2. The seller and listing agent decide how much your agent gets paid.

3. If you don't feel that a buyers agent provides much value (and 80% of them don't) then find one that does or try to approach the listing agent or builder directly and see dwhow that works out in a sellers market. A good luxury buyers agent will be worth every penny of their commission... that you are not paying. Their connections and leverage can get your offer accepted over others or they can get you in before a project is completed and hits the market.