Rentability and Location - Newbie Question

3 Replies

I'm a newbie that is just beginning to look at properties to purchase purely for investment purposes, any help and opinions would be much appreciated...

I currently own a SFR in the Hillcrest neighborhood of Little Rock (LR). I have, however, been looking at a property near the SOMA district but probably a bit outside of that particular area. I am in the military and have since moved from Little Rock, but consider myself relatively familiar with the city.

The property link is here:

2221 S Scott St. Little Rock, AR

My questions are:

1) This property neighbors a multi-family property (also for sale) that is 24 Units. How much should I factor this into the value of the property and the ability/challenge of renting it out? Will this significantly affect what I can ask for rent?

2) Is anyone more familiar with this part of town, I know its improving in the historical parts of SOMA, but is this too far out?

3) Any other factors I should take into account that may be easily missed?

I lived in SOMA a few years ago, and while it's grown since then, I'd say the property in question is still a little far from the desirable SOMA classification. Not that it's a bad deal.

Side note, I'd love to get my hands on that 24 unit complex next door.

Thanks Matt for your input. I understand it's not considered in the SOMA neighborhood but would you avoid this particular area in your experience living there? I've driven around there a few times, but I'm unclear as to whether or not it's getting better or worse.

It doesn't seem to be getting any worse, and isn't really a bad area. Just not SOMA. If I found a property in that neighborhood that worked for me I'd go for it, most of my rentals are in much worse areas. But that's just my non expert opinion.

Free eBook from BiggerPockets!

Ultimate Beginner's Guide Book Cover