Canarsie Brooklyn

9 Replies

Hello BP, is there anyone that are buy and hold investors in Canarsie Brooklyn if so I wanted to know is it worth it to invest in this market?

@Algernon Brown Hey man, You seem like the kind of guy that has a $1Million in the war chest.  GO FOR IT!!! but if your like the rest of America you will look at alternative markets to get started in.  Good Luck man your gonna need it in that market!

@Shawn Ackerman why do you say that?  I live 5 minutes from Canarsie.  South Brooklyn has the cheapest Real Estate you can find in all of Brooklyn and could make sense for an investor.  Unless there is something I dont know about the area?  Bad tenants?  Canarsie itself looks well maintained to me.

@Algernon Brown My colleagues who live in Canarsie spoke about certain areas being flood zones. As a newbie, I'm not sure if this will hinder you in anyway as an investor.  

Thank you, I will do more research.

@Algernon Brown

Hi Algernon. Just thought that I would comment. I'm a Brooklyn Investor for the last 20 years. I'm current holding properties in Ditmas Park, Clinton Hill, Windsor Terrace and Bed-Stuy.

The way I would like to put it is through real life examples.

In 2004, I bought a 4 Family Clinton Hill property for $1.2 Million. Renovated the building for $400k.

Around the same time, a student, his name is Marshall, bought a coop apartment in East Parchester, Bronx for $72k.

Fast forward to today.

The Clinton Hill property is now worth $2.5 Million conservatively. It also cashflows around $3k per month.

Marshall's property, however, did not recover from the Financial Crisis. It fell dramatically and today he cannot even sell it for more than $60k.

The contrast between these two real life scenarios is vast.

I made more than a Million, Marshall lost money.

Even within neighborhoods in NYC you will find different neighborhood economics and desirability, gentrification, etc.