• Investor
  • League City, TX
Votes |
Filp or Brrrr advice

Will Wimmer
  • Investor
  • League City, TX
Posted May 24 2017, 08:54

Hello Bigger Pockets. Ive been following the form for a bit but Im new to posting. Im a real estate agent here in the south east suburbs of houston and about to start my 2 flip of the year. Im tossing around the idea between flipping and the brrr method and would like some advice. Here are my numbers.

Purchase price $73000, if i go the brrr route i will tile the whole house, fresh paint through out, paint cabnets, 2 new showers and granite through out and other small misc things. My rehab costs are going to be between 16 and 18k, for a total of 91,000 on the high side. I can rent the home for 1400 to 1450 a month. After I refinance, pay taxes, insurance and mortgage I will have have a positive cash flow of roughly 800 to 850 per month. ( i have already got insurance quotes, know what the taxes are and talked to a investment bank for a commercial interest rate, which is roughly prime plus 1. I intend to have everything go through my LLC so I dont have to use my personal debt to income ration, hence the commercial loan. I have not factored in occupicy rate, repair cost after tenate moves in or cost of leasing. The home is in a great area and i dont foresee it being vacant for more than a month.

Option 2 is the Flip. I will tile most of the house, carpet in the bedrooms, paint the whole house and cabinets. 2 new showers, and granite through out. New doors, handles and light fixtures and electrical sockets to give it that new look. Rehab cost, 18 to 20k for a total of 93000 on the high side. I can sell it for between 140 to 145k. closing cost is roughly 10k. Based off these numbers i can net 37000 before taxes on the low side.