Existing Tenants Should They Stay or Should They Go.

7 Replies

I am a newbie and am under contract for a FourPlex.  

The inspection revealed a dirty tenant that apparently has a good rental history.  I am wondering if I should insist that he be evicted and the unit be returned to a rentable condition before I agree to finalize the purchase.  I am withing the inspection period.

I have recieved excellend advice from a previous forum post.  Thank you in advance.

Nick

Originally posted by @Nick Vorves :

I am a newbie and am under contract for a FourPlex.  

The inspection revealed a dirty tenant that apparently has a good rental history.  I am wondering if I should insist that he be evicted and the unit be returned to a rentable condition before I agree to finalize the purchase.  I am withing the inspection period.

I have recieved excellend advice from a previous forum post.  Thank you in advance.

Nick

You can ask for whatever you want but one question is will the seller be willing to accommodate?

After you get through that I don't think it makes any sense to evict a tenant for being "dirty" if they are paying on time. With well over 800 rentals in my portfolio I can tell you that your not going to be collecting very much rent if you evict all of the "dirty" tenants. The ones who keep the place very tidy are definitely the minority. It does of course matter what asset class you are in as well. As the asset class rises as does how clean the tenants keep their units.

I don't see why a seller will agree to (and pay for) evict a tenant that is paying on time. When you put the property under contract you probably had time to view all the units and then make an offer you felt comfortable with.