Votes
Enzo Magliozzi
  • Big Bear Lake, CA
Votes |
Hold Rental or Sell to Avoid Cap Gains?

Enzo Magliozzi
  • Big Bear Lake, CA
Posted Dec 15 2017, 14:16

I am new here and Iooking for advice to decide what to do with a particular rental property in Chico, CA. I have about 150K in equity in it now. Market value is about $340k and I feel the neighborhood is peaking. Typically I believe in holding, but now that I have inherited more rental properties in Southern California and Hawaii, I am considering selling the property in Northern California and purchasing something else when I relocate to another owned property in Hawaii. This would give me a very large down payment and move more of my properties to within a manageable distance from each other (2 locations instead of 3). I have been renting the place for 2 years now (moved out 12/15) but have yet to claim it. If I sell in 2018, I could avoid capital gains taxes which would be about 20k. Current tenants are willing to sign early termination because they want a dog. 

The current rent just covers the mortgage, landscaping and repairs. I do have the opportunity to raise the rent another $200 / month. I could also start to depreciate the house, but from what I understand I would pay that back when I eventually sell. My brother currently lives in the same town and helps to manage the property but he may move in the next few years also. I make trips about twice a year to look over things. The house is in great shape for being built in 1962 but the hvac system is going out. I feel that I could put in more sweat equity into something closer with more growth potential in Hawaii.