Buying raw land with cash

2 Replies

Hi, my name is Devin Wilkinson and I am new to Bigger Pockets. I am very interested in getting into raw land flipping. I have been researching all about it over the past couple weeks and I have learned a lot so far, but I am going to continue to learn as much as I can. I am planning to buy raw land in New Mexico or Texas through tax delinquent lists. I am going to start with small purchases that I can get for a few hundred dollars or so and this is where my question comes. Since it is a small purchase hiring a lawyer or title company doesn't seem to be feasible to still make a profit. I have read about it all over the internet and listened to every podcast I could find on the topic. I also have watched videos and read articles from Seth Williams including the ones on self closing land deals. I am beginning to understand the process but one area I can not figure out is the cash transfer. How do I do the cash and deed exchange when I'm hundreds of miles away? Do I send a cashiers check in the mail to the seller and have the deed mailed to me, signed, and then to the county? Is the land purchase agreement the document that ensures we both fulfil our end of the deal or is something else needed? I would appreciate any help with how this transaction is done when the seller and buyer are in different states where they can not meet in person to do an exchange. Any other information on raw land flipping would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!