OOS Team Building Specifics? Info/Advice/Warnings?

16 Replies

I'm new to BP and have been absorbing a lot since. One of the things I keep hearing about regarding out-of-state investing is making sure you build a team you can trust. With respect to the Core-4, as I heard a podcast call it (Lender, Agent, Property Manager, Vendors), representing the 4 groups of people you need to have on your team in whatever market you are operating in. What I haven't heard is specifically about how to go about determining if you can trust any one of these given people. If I'm in Los Angeles and let's say I'm looking at starting my OOS investing in, say, Kansas City, I call an agent first, I suppose, to get a conversation started about properties and areas, who might then lead me then to a lender, and then perhaps a property manager, then vendors, etc. But, being new to OOS, all I have to go on is basically phone conversations and gut feel.

Does anybody have a list of specific questions that should be asked of any one (or all) of my core-4. And more specifically, are there any specific answers or things that are red flags when talking to one (or all) of them? Because clearly any one of these people is generally going to tell me what I want to hear at least until they get their money out of me.

This is all in the interest of not getting completely screwed my first go-round.

Thx in advance for any thoughts/experience.

@Matt Hish - Honestly, those key people are important rather you are local or not.  My biggest suggestions are:

1) Get recommendations from investors and others in the area you want to own.

2) Visit early and often (location and your properties)

3) Go to local REIA meetings to network and learn.

Anyone can answer your questions "correctly" but having a proven track record (or not) speaks volumes.

BP is also a great source of info once you need specific recommendations.  There are also many fantastic forum posts about the pros/cons of OOS.

Hope this helps! :)