What do you do when you feel your home market is to expensive?

23 Replies

Looking to expand outside of my home market. Still a relatively new real estate inventor. I purchased 2 properties last year but its to expensive in my home market and want to look somewhere with better cash flow.  What cities are worth looking at?  I am new to BiggerPockets.   Thanks!

Tyler.

I invest only out of state and can help you out.

I invest in Memphis, St. L, Cleveland, Akron, BHAM.

They're all great cash flowing markets. 

@Tyler Wittwer You buy toilet properties that look great on paper but for some reason can't be sold to local investors.

I kid.

But seriously, be careful out there.

Start looking outside your home town, places you have reliable contacts in first.

Maybe your folks live somewhere cheaper and they could help you? There's a business relationship in the making.

Originally posted by @Tyler Wittwer :

Looking to expand outside of my home market. Still a relatively new real estate inventor. I purchased 2 properties last year but its to expensive in my home market and want to look somewhere with better cash flow.  What cities are worth looking at?  I am new to BiggerPockets.   Thanks!

Welcome to the site Tyler. If you are looking for info on out of state investing you have come to the right place. I recommend setting up a keyword alert for "turnkey". It's one of the most widely discussed topics here in the forums. Very quickly the major markets & players in those markets will become clear to you as we frequent these pages often.

As for the concept of buying out of state remember that It's not really that complicated to buy out of state. It only becomes complicated when investors try to over complicate or over think everything. Whenever you are buying a property out of state you should do a few things to ensure it's as smooth as possible.