How much do property managers typically charge?

9 Replies

I have no experience hiring a property manager. How much do they typically charge? What are their primary reaponsibilities? I believe their biggest benefit to a landlord is keeping it n top of rent collection and serving eviction notices ASAP. Also they can handle issues with tenants and provide quick attention.

@Frank Shaw this question depends on a lot of different items. How many units are you looking to have managed? Management companies do not likes small properties, as it is much easier to manage a 50 unit than a single family home. Secondly, what quality of property are you buying? Is it in a good area, or is it in a tougher area? 

I have a management company for my Indiana property, and I am paying 5% for management with 1/2 months rent for each lease up. I have been doing research on this topic in my local market as I am under contract to purchase a 19 unit deal in Berwyn in the Chicago suburbs, and I have been quoted as low as 5% and as high as 7.5%. 

As @John Warren pointed out it really depends on the type of property.

It's common for property management to charge 10% of gross rents for SFH's and small MFR's.

As you get into larger commercial MFR deals that number will drop slightly due to economies of scale.

Given I am a lender and have seen 1000's of rent rolls across the nation, IMO this number will range from 8-12% depending on the factors @John Warren mentioned above.

@John Warren thanks for sharing! I was thinking of moving some of my condos in california to out of state. With that, I want to make sure the property is taken care of for any reason (tenent in and outs, building issues, rent collection...) I’ll need to start small and find a property manager/management company that will provide their services to me.

Hi Frank,