Licensed Agents Purchasing Investment Property

9 Replies

I am a licensed agent in the Phoenix AZ area. I am looking at acquiring some investment property for myself. They would be cash deals, no agency and no commissions on either side. I know I am required to disclose to the seller that I am a licensed agent, but am I legally able to complete the transaction as a private individual without going through my brokerage? ie. if use my own letter of intent, purchase contract etc. and have my title company manage escrow for me?

You need to look at your IC ( independent contractor agreement ). These are agreements between the brokerage and the sub-brokers/agents.

A good IC agreement spells out clearly what is allowed and not in the agreement.

There are various levels to this. You have the brokerage rules with the IC agreement that says to be a sub-broker or agent there you can only do this and not do this etc. Then there are the state laws with the real estate commission on disclosure to parties and at what time it is required (first contact, at the end, through the whole process, etc.) Some brokerages allow 1 sale a year where no commission split is due if it is an agents personal home they are selling, others have yearly commission caps. If something is not clear in your IC agreement then ASK the principal broker for clarification before going to try something you THINK is okay.

If you are licensed as an agent you need to be active and in good standing and typically all real estate related activities have to go through your brokerage you hang your license with.

No legal advice given.

Rules vary state to state and brokerage to brokerage. I can buy, sell, and lease without involving my brokerage. If I represent others all fees must pass through them. 

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now