Why do sellers sell good rental properties?

36 Replies

I'm looking at a multi family unit which would be a turnkey rental opportunity for me.  I'm a total newbie so I've run the numbers two dozen times with conservative assumptions on everything (high vacancy, high repair costs, etc.) 

All three units are occupied; two through spring and the other is month to month. The building is well maintained with lots of updates and is in a good location.

The numbers look pretty good which makes me if I've missed something important.  As a new investor I'm not confident in myself yet and I wonder if I'm missing something that should concern me.

The seller told my realtor that he's selling because he wants to concentrate more on vacation property around a nearby lake, so maybe he needs the equity from this property to expand his more profitable vacation property?  Is that believable?

Newbie is nervous :)

Story could be true.

You might want to see how long the owner has owned the apartments.  If its only a few years, you may be getting a 'flip'.  

See if it was bought much lower and priced higher than normal appreciation would give.  

The owner may have cooked the books to show less than normal expenses and thus showing extra high profit.  Or maybe they showed extra high income with the same results, showing extra high profit.  Or maybe they put lipstick on a pig and you have serious hidden problems.

He is probably going to make more money in his other endevour. What does your RE agent say about the pro forma?  Do you knowyour local cap rates and if so how does this compare? 

@Anita Parsa Sellers sell for all kinds of reasons, sometimes they're absolutely unbelievable but still true. Vacation rentals can be much more profitable than regular rentals so it's not hard to believe this seller wants to move equity in that direction.