Hard Money/House Flip Questions

8 Replies

Hi folks - 

I'm a small time RE investor in Northern Virginia and own 4 rented units that cashflow. I've had these units for approximately 2 years. I didn't know a whole lot before I hopped into the RE market but fortunately I have learned fast with no huge mistakes (phew!). I bought them at good price points and did some rehab in order to get top rent dollar and good tenants.  

I've always been interested in doing flips and am part of a FB group that posts off market deals. Since I'm new to this part of the RE market, I have some questions I hope you all could help with (I apologize if they are eye-rolling basic!):

1.    Do you traditionally need hard money to take advantage of off market deals?

2.    How do you go about finding hard money?

3.    Generally speaking, are these FB groups for off market deals reliable/trustworthy places to find opportunities?

The RE properties I own now were financed with my own money for down payments and loans from traditional lenders. 

Thank you in advance for your help!

Chris 

Hi @Chris Stevens

I am relatively new to the investing world but have been going to many different local meets up over the past year or so meeting and talking with people doing this here locally.  Congrats on your rental units btw!

With regards to your questions

1)  I think most people use hard money, private money or cash to purchase flips, namely because the condition of the home won't allow them to qualify for 'traditional' financing.  If a house is in great shape depending on how you're buying it (your name or a business name) I don't think you'd have issues getting traditional financing for it be it a residential or a commercial loan depending on your end goals.   The condition of the house and what you intend to do with it I think will dictate more your financing options, where you find the deal shouldn't matter.