Should I Consider Self Storage Being New to Real Estate?

19 Replies

I'm new to real estate, but I've been thinking of investing in self storage. I'm starting to have second thoughts after talking to a realtor. He's saying that it will be really tricky to convince banks to finance something like that for someone who doesn't have experience in managing commercial properties. Do you think he has a valid point and I should look into maybe SFHs/multifamilies first?

I mean yes he has a point, but why should that stop you? If self storage is what you want to do, then figure out how to do self storage. Don’t just take the word of one agent. Start talking to lenders and mortgage brokers, share with them your background and goals, and ask them what you need to do to qualify for a loan. You can get an SBA loan for self storage, which means a lot less money down. You can also find partners with self storage experience who can help you on your first deals. 

There are definitely ways to make it work. 

Originally posted by @Cason Acor :

I mean yes he has a point, but why should that stop you? If self storage is what you want to do, then figure out how to do self storage. Don’t just take the word of one agent. Start talking to lenders and mortgage brokers, share with them your background and goals, and ask them what you need to do to qualify for a loan. You can get an SBA loan for self storage, which means a lot less money down. You can also find partners with self storage experience who can help you on your first deals. 

I dont see self storage as real estate per se its a business. that just happens to run out of a real estate location you own and operate not different than buying your own body shop or fitness center and owning the building.. And experience for lending will most certainly come into play .  you may want to start with a smaller rural type property that the owner will finance or you pay cash for and work your way up.