Skip to content
Commercial Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Tyson Dierschke
  • Investor
  • Rosenberg, TX
Votes |
What do I do now? Wanting to get into Boat and RV storage.

Tyson Dierschke
  • Investor
  • Rosenberg, TX
Posted Oct 22 2015, 11:39

I have a lot on my mind and a lot of questions, but I'm going to try to get to the point as quickly as possible. I am new to investing and I'm still trying to figure out exactly what I want to do. I have a pretty good idea, but I'm still not to a point where I feel I'm ready to dive in just yet. So here I go, I hope this doesn't turn out too too long.

I currently own one SFR as an investment property (newly refinanced for better interest rate and cashflow). I have roughly $40k in equity in this property and it is currently in the second year of a two year lease. This was my first primary residence which I decided to keep as a rental property after scaling up due to a growing family. However, I think I've decided that landlording may not be the best route for me.

I also have a $20k retirement account from a previous employer that, even though it's gaining 7% annually, I feel could be put to better use. Those are my main assets in play here, with the retirement account being the first primary source of capital.

Through investing, my goal is to generate enough passive income to replace the majority or all of my current pay, which would then allow me to effectively retire from the rat race and focus on my own entrepreneurial goals instead of someone else's. I realize that this is a business and is not 100% hands off, but I am willing to put in the work to make this happen.

I was (and still am) originally interested in building or purchasing an existing boat and rv storage business. In researching this, I discovered the wider world of real estate investing which ultimately led me to BP, of which I've been a member and observer for almost a year.