• Attorney
  • Bay Area, CA
Votes |
Commercial Redevelopment of Union City, CA

Naseer Khan
  • Attorney
  • Bay Area, CA
Posted Mar 23 2017, 17:29

I've been a long time resident of Union City and I've recently been in contact with several City officials who have expressed an interest in converting the City's commercial landscape from warehouses to offices, whether tech or other industries.  

If you're not familiar with Union City, its a mostly suburban city in the East Bay Area, situated between Fremont and Hayward with a population of around 75,000 residents.  It technically falls within the geographic limits of the silicon valley.  The founders of the City thought it would be a good idea to establish the City as a place for warehouses, which currently makes up the majority of the commercial property.  This was fine several decades ago but things have changed a lot in the Bay Area and warehouses aren't the best use for prime/scarce Bay Area property.  

The City sees this as an opportunity for redevelopment and the chance to establish a different identity.  Some of the hurdles that it faces include: finding investors that want to take over a large warehouse and convert it into office space; finding tech or other businesses that are willing to relocate to the City; convincing current warehouse landlords to give up their properties, etc.