Votes
Andy Sabo
  • Honolulu, HI
Votes |
The Big Taboo in Private Lending for Commercial Real Estate

Andy Sabo
  • Honolulu, HI
Posted May 16 2011, 14:35

My wife, Monalisa and I just celebrated our 24th anniversary. She is my soul mate and I could never have found a better person to spend my life with. We have truly loved and respected each other all these years and are the perfect match.

The Perfect Match
By now you know that I am an Agent representing Private Lenders for Commercial Real Estate. Those of us in this business specialize in certain types of loans, based on the offerings of our Lending Groups. One of the problems in this industry is that the lending groups are looking for the perfect match.

This article may seem self-deprecating as I try to give a realistic view of Private Lending Groups for Commercial Real Estate. Many agents contact me with loan requests that were turned down by their lender. Instead of walking away, they try to find someone who can solve their problem. We all do this because we want to help our clients. That should be a good thing, but it is frowned upon by the Lending Groups.

The Modern Marketing Concept
In the 1900s, marketing meant identifying strategies and tactics for simply selling more products and services with little regard for what customers really wanted. That changed in the 1950s when competition increased. The modern marketing concept suggests first knowing the customer and what they want before developing and marketing products and services.
Private Lending Groups tell the world they have Billions to lend but make it almost impossible for most borrowers to meet their criteria. They don’t tell you what the product is, because each deal is evaluated on its own merit. It seems that Private Lending for CRE is an industry that defies modern marketing concepts.

Fear of Competition