• Investor
  • Orlando, FL
Votes |
Route to starting a Syndication Business

Grant Gaffney
  • Investor
  • Orlando, FL
Posted Aug 13 2019, 21:17

I am a senior University student, who truly is obsessed with real estate.
I've read and listened to as much as possible on real estate in the past couple of years including topics such as syndication. I am extremely vested in pursing this career path. I want to do everything I can to learn now and set this future endeavor into motion. 

I would love to know for those who are currently syndicators how you got started and what route you took? 

What do you feel is the best route or routes into the syndication business? (I understand this isn't a one size fits all situation, but what would be the best route if in your opinion you had to choose.) 

What facet of commercial real estate do you feel would best prepare a person for syndication business? (What career out of college would best prepare a person for future syndication business? Commercial loan officer, Commercial broker, Analyst, etc.)

Is there any advice you may have for someone who pursues this career path?

Anything you wish you would have done differently in starting your syndication business?

Thanks in advance for your time for responding to this post.

User Stats

Votes
Greg Dickerson#2 Land & New Construction Contributor
  • Developer
  • Charlottesville, VA
Votes |
Greg Dickerson#2 Land & New Construction Contributor
  • Developer
  • Charlottesville, VA
Replied Aug 14 2019, 03:35

@Grant Gaffney you should look for a job with a commercial investment and development company and work your way through all positions in the organization. This is the most valuable skillet to have long term. You will learn all aspects of the business working with a developer.

User Stats

Votes
David Lilley
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
  • Dallas, TX
Replied Aug 14 2019, 07:38