Effective Ways of Finding Investment Opportunities in Your Market

3 Replies

About a year ago I completed a bachelors degree in construction management and have since been working as a consultant for commercial real estate development across the US.

I have saved a chunk of change that I would like to invest. But have a few questions regarding getting started. 

1. I am worried about market entry. Now seems like the worst possible time to invest in anything with the bull run we have had for the last        10+ years. Would you recommend investing my money ASAP or waiting out the decline that is anticipated for early next year?

2. I have a lot of experience that is valuable to any real estate development project. I would like to earn some sweat equity in whatever deal I find or create. How would I go about finding local investments or selling my abilities to local professionals?

Originally posted by @Shane Johnson :

About a year ago I completed a bachelors degree in construction management and have since been working as a consultant for commercial real estate development across the US. 

I have saved a chunk of change that I would like to invest. But have a few questions regarding getting started. 

1. I am worried about market entry. Now seems like the worst possible time to invest in anything with the bull run we have had for the last        10+ years. Would you recommend investing my money ASAP or waiting out the decline that is anticipated for early next year?

2. I have a lot of experience that is valuable to any real estate development project. I would like to earn some sweat equity in whatever            deal I find or create. How would I go about finding local investments or selling my abilities to local professionals?