Is it better to invest in commercial property or residential

62 Replies

What is a safer bet, investing in commercial buildings, or investing in residential properties. If you become a local landlord to shops in a town, would that be better then if you had homes there?

Thank you.

This post has been removed.

Thanks for the response!

What are APOD's?

What is non-conforming real estate?

Why would the cash flow be better on commercial properties? Do they usually have better cash flow then residential properties??

Thanks again
:mrgreen:

Why would the cash flow be better on commercial properties? Do they usually have better cash flow then residential properties??

I have no experience with commercial properties, but from observation i can say... small companies tend to stay in their units much longer than a renter would.

of course there is the exceptional few 'dream renters' who take good care of your house and stay for years upon years, but for the most part I believe you will see 5, 10, maybe even more come through a residential rental in the time that you would see 1-2 through a commercial rental.

I can name a number of small shops in my town that have been renting the exact same units for 20+ years. my company has been in our unit for 4 years now.

Hello, My clients tell me that commercial properties have better value and better cashflow. Also, that million dollar lenders realize that value and are more willing to work with commercial investors.

I prefer commercial property. If you're interested or thinking of investing in commercial property and have 10% down + 3% closing. I have properties available with approved financing. Just contact me and I'll get you more details.

Commercial!