Votes
Jay Real
  • Germantown, MD
Votes |
New Shopping complex construction costs

Jay Real
  • Germantown, MD
Posted Sep 15 2021, 14:32

I am *Thinking* of venturing into commercial real estate via a small shopping complex project, around 10Ksqft. Since i am new to commercial real estate investment i need some help in estimating the ballpark cost per sqft number for construction, apart from land/permits. Just the construction part. 

For new complex do i need to provide only shell to the tenants and tenants finishes it? if so will tenant demand a credit for doing the interior.

User Stats

Votes
Wes Johnson
  • Developer
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Dallas, TX
Replied Sep 18 2021, 04:28

@Jay Real

do you already have a site and land picked out?

User Stats

Votes
Joel Owens
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Canton, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Canton, GA
ModeratorReplied Sep 18 2021, 11:32

If you have no track record of construction for retail centers plan on banks requiring pre-lease of around 50% of building before funding anything.

As to cost per foot impossible to answer. The shape of the piece of land can dictate building design and can make much more expensive. Also the county or city might require ( high style ) architectural features for build quality that run up standard cost per foot substantially. Right now parts and materials with labor shortage so costs are more expensive than usual. I am buying vacant buildings at less per foot than can build for and repositioning them with a new tenant in place for equity upside.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Scott Mac
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
  • Austin, TX
Replied Sep 18 2021, 12:05
Originally posted by @Jay Real: