Skip to content
Foreclosures

User Stats

Votes
Eran Matalon
Votes |
How do websites like Propertyshark get updated Lis Pendens info?

Eran Matalon
Posted Jun 12 2022, 07:46

Hi Guys, 

Im a Broker and work with many Pre-foreclosures in NY. Im wondering how these websites get all the E-filed documents for all the properties in the area in bulk? I need to look up the properties on Propertyshark and only than see the Lis Pendens, meaning i already need to know what addresses have one.  Is there anyway for me to be able to see all the new Lis Pendens that are filed in NY without using these 3rd party websites? Instead of using Ecourts and inserting the index number, i'm wondering if i can do the opposite and see all the info for all the new properties.

Long story short, I want to get the info the other websites get. 

User Stats

Votes
Bob Reinhard
  • Lender
  • Patterson, NY
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Patterson, NY
Replied Jun 12 2022, 07:59

I don’t know how it acquires its data for resale but generally there are 3 main ways to do this.

• -Buy it governmental body in electronic format – e.g. property tax data; and residential property data (# bdrms/# bthrms).
  • -Buy source recorded data from a government entity – e.g. deed info, mortgage info - and input onto a self-created database.
  • -Individually created but bulked – e.g. multiple listing service where the bulk is by individual agents.

Much success.

Bob

User Stats

Votes
Eran Matalon
Votes |
Replied Jun 12 2022, 14:46

Hi Bob,

I tried going with the second option but they did not go far back with their  data. I need to see all the Lis Pendens dates for each property, which in New York can date back many years since they re-file every three years. 

The first is an option but the cost is absolutely to much at this point.

Thanks for the input! Ill keep my search going.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets