Votes
Juan Vargas
Pro Member
Votes |
How does the foreclosure process work?

Juan Vargas
Pro Member
Posted Nov 11 2022, 10:32

I’m new to the real estate world and taking a tour of each creative way to obtain real estate. Wondering how this process works. 

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Nov 11 2022, 21:07

Acquiring foreclosure properties is a great way to buy real estate. Opens he door to so many creative ways to buy real estate. Like subto, mortgage wraps, novation agreements

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Nov 12 2022, 04:33

@Juan Vargas

There are two types of foreclosure, a judicial sale and a non judicial sale

Judicial sale goes through the court process and the lender files a lawsuit against the borrower. Typically in a judicial state it will take a year plus to foreclose, the conclusion of the foreclosure is the property goes to auction

In a non judicial state there is typically a deed of trust and the trustee will auction off the property

In todays economic environment (we buy notes so we have a pretty good pulse on what’s going on), foreclosures are rare and the properties being foreclosed upon mine as well be knocked down.

Why do I say that?

1. How had home appreciation been the past 2 years?

2. If you got thrown out of your house and have ****** credit is their suitable housing / rental people can find?

Homeowners have equity in their property and if the house is decent will not move, they will file bankruptcy and keep there homes and restructure the debt in ch 13.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored