Skip to content
Foreclosures

User Stats

Votes
John J Murray
Votes |
Can you buy a property before a foreclosure auction in Massachusetts?

John J Murray
Posted Jun 8 2023, 11:44

Hello, 

I'm a 22 year old contractor and I've been researching different ways to acquire properties in my state of Massachusetts due to the competitiveness at all the foreclosure auctions I attend, there are a lot of "bigger fish" that have more funds to spend then I can/the bank bids them up. I was curious if anyone knows if you're able to purchase the property before the auction as in going straight to the owner. When researching I've gotten mixed answers such as you can or you can't once there is a set date for the auction. If anyone has any info on this i'd greatly appreciate it.

Thank you

User Stats

Votes
Mike Hern
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Scottsdale Austin Tuktoyaktuk
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Scottsdale Austin Tuktoyaktuk
Replied Jun 8 2023, 11:52
Quote from @John J Murray:

Hello, 

I'm a 22 year old contractor and I've been researching different ways to acquire properties in my state of Massachusetts due to the competitiveness at all the foreclosure auctions I attend, there are a lot of "bigger fish" that have more funds to spend then I can/the bank bids them up. I was curious if anyone knows if you're able to purchase the property before the auction as in going straight to the owner. When researching I've gotten mixed answers such as you can or you can't once there is a set date for the auction. If anyone has any info on this i'd greatly appreciate it.

Thank you

The owner is still the owner until after it's sold at auction and then depending on the circumstances, that may not be the end of things.
So, yes, you can buy the property until it's owned by somebody else, like the bank for instance.
Have the owner contct the bank for a "reinstatement amount'. you will have to cover that in order to buy the property.