Bankruptcy? Who to contact?

8 Replies

Hi all.  My partner and I were driving for houses, and came across one that appeared empty.  It had a "winterized" sign on the front door so we came home and researched it.  The house is still in the ladies' name, with her buying the house in 2007.  

I am new to this, and have a limited understanding of all this, but we searched the Register of Deeds for our county and found that she filed bankruptcy in 2015.  Like I said before, the owner of the property is still this lady, NOT a bank.  

Who do we call or write?  She's still the owner, not the bank.  (I'm not sure how bankruptcies work, so who else could own the property?)  This is a nice house, just needs some sprucing up (we could see in the windows and the roof & a/c are good indicators usually, to the condition of a house).

Thanks for any direction you can give us!

M.

The lady still owns it and if the BK was actually completed/discharged....she still owns it, just isn't personally liable for the debt anymore. Two choices; either do a short with the owner, which they would little incentive to cooperate with, or wait for the foreclosure auction or it being listed as an REO. BTW the BK doesn't change the short sale process.

@Wayne Brooks 

Thank you for your reply!!  I JUST saw your name in another thread about Ocwen, so it's funny you've written me!  

We'd like to contact the lady, and just ask the questions.  What are the questions??  (ha ha)  

Personally, I would really just ask the same questions that you would ask if you were seeking to purchase from a private owner. Ask if she is interested in selling the house, does she live there, what she knows needs to be done to the home, etc.

I would not automatically assume she wants to sell because of filing BK, but I also wouldn't assume she doesn't want to, either.