Foreclosures

User Stats

Votes
N/A N/A
Votes |
Pre-Foreclosure Direct Mail and mkting-- In depth

N/A N/A
Posted Aug 3 2008, 11:00

I am experienced at direct mail and would like to utilize my experience to improve foreclosure direct mail success rates (I owned 2 printing companies and an ad agency). However direct mail marketing to individuals in foreclosure is a new and completely different market and psychology than the traditional markets I am used to. I have some questions that are best answered by experienced pro's. I am a newbie who is going into this full time with dedicated research and resources here in Tampa.

Part 1
I was planning on designing high-end direct mail pieces (creative, high-end, die-cut, spot UV coatings, large oversized postcards, brochures and letters). My costs are very inexpensive and are not an issue. However it appears to be a universal theme that this is NOT a good method. Everyone recomends just the opposite--plain white envelopes, no business name, even handwritten. The receipients get inundated and throw almost everything out. I agree that if you are going to do a regular letter, its necessary to be discreet on the envelope to get it opened. However most people don't have the direct mail, printing, graphics resources I have. The question is this: In my situation, would you still recomend the plain Jane apporach and call it a numbers game, or would you stand out of the crowd with professional, corporate, highend direct mail and personalization piece?

I was planning on sending oversized postcards (but being discreet about the services as not to embarrass or announce to everyone they were in foreclosure), sending personalized letters and postcards via Priority mail overnight envelopes, and doing some of the plain-Jane approach. What's your take/recomendations?

Part 2