HELP! Neighbor's house going into foreclosure! Next steps?

9 Replies

Hey guys. So, my wife and I knew there had to be something going on with our next door neighbors. Things have been very strange over there lately. Turns out, they're going into foreclosure. As a total newbie looking to do my first deal, how do I approach this the right way? The wrong way? Thanks ahead for the advice!   FYI - auction is scheduled to begin November 27

Offer to help them move? That is about the extent of what you can do short of offering your neighbor money to reinstate their loan. You haven't offered any details about what it means to do your first "deal" so, you probably won't get anything of substance in a response from anyone. Approach what the right or wrong way? What do you mean your deal?

All that said...auction is scheduled in about two weeks? Nothing you can do at this point short of paying their loan off or reinstating them and even doing that, you (they) lose that right in about a week.

'Deal' as in wholesale. I'm beginning my search for highly motivated sellers. I didn't have to look too far to find potential ones. Look, I appreciate the advice. I'm simply asking if anyone has had any experience with situations like this. And I don't mean to sound insincere. We want the best for our neighbors and we're more than happy to personally help out if needed. With that said, do I also view this as a potential 'win-win' scenario from a business perspective or do I leave it alone? You've made it sound like there's nothing an investor can provide for them at this point. 

If it's IN foreclosure (still in the foreclosure process) the auction doesn't "begin" on the 27th, it IS the 27th. If the auction actually "begins" on the 27th, then the bank already owns it and it is an REO, already has been foreclosed on, and the bank is auctioning it off.

You need to know which is the case, and if still owned by your neighbors, what the total pay off is.