Florida Foreclosure auction

7 Replies

Hello All,

I am new to the investing world and had a few questions. I am currently renting a condo that is going to auction in 2 weeks. I have been pre-approved for either conventional mortgage or the VA homeloan. I understand that auctions are all cash. My first option would be to bid reasonably using private money, then refinance. There are a few concerns though. The first being, the lien holder has a mortgage of over 200k with fees totaling over 300k for judgement amount. The house is worth roughly 185k. The title however is owned by a property management company, but the lien holder is the one getting foreclosed on. What are the odds the bank would accepting anything less than market value for this condo? From my research gathered, and multiple experienced investors iv'e spoken to, there is a high likely hood of the bank winning the auction then I can try to negotiate a REO shortly after. I am across the street from a rapidly growing university, with a hospital being built shortly. I currently have 3 roommates who would pay my entire mortgage/hoa. I believe this is a great way for me to start my house hacking journey, and i'd appreciate any feedback or advice.

One of two scenarios will happen:

1) the bank hasn’t researched the value and determined what they will be willing to let it go for...they’ll just set their max bid at the judgment amount.

2) the bas has researched the value and will set their max bid somewhere near market value..

You say the condo is “owned” my a management company.  Was there an hoa foreclosure?  If so, did the hoa get it back or did a third party buy it. Either way, there may be hoa debts still attached the condo that a buyer at the auction would inherit.