Foreclosed, up for auction. Is it a good investment?

5 Replies

Hey everyone, I’m studying for my real estate exam in CT and have found a foreclosed home in Norwalk. I’d like to dig into and see if it a good investment opportunity. I have two investors interested in properties in CT but I’m not sure how to evaluate this and bring it to their attention. I don’t even have the money for a title search at the moment and was told I should find out if there are any liens on the property before anything. Can someone please help I can’t think clearly and I‘m flipping through my exam book trying to find answers.
Originally posted by @Harry Burgos :
Hey everyone, I’m studying for my real estate exam in CT and have found a foreclosed home in Norwalk. I’d like to dig into and see if it a good investment opportunity. I have two investors interested in properties in CT but I’m not sure how to evaluate this and bring it to their attention. I don’t even have the money for a title search at the moment and was told I should find out if there are any liens on the property before anything. Can someone please help I can’t think clearly and I‘m flipping through my exam book trying to find answers.

If it is foreclosed, it belongs to the bank and is now called an REO. You have to wait for the property to be listed. You can't legally enter the building to inspect it until it is listed.

If it is in pre-foreclosure it is still owned by the homeowner. You can contact the homeowner and start the conversation. Looking in the county records will tell you most of the liens and owners, but it might miss one or two.

It's a good exercise to go through, but I wouldn't buy it without knowing a lot more.