Profit/Cash Flow ratios and requirements on multi-family investments

11 Replies

Hi All

Forum Noob here, just curious what are your rules or requirements for profit/cash flow prior to making an investment on a multi-family unit? I'm currently looking at an opportunity to buy a 2 family for $260K. I plan to put $10K down on a 30yr mortgage at 4.5%. I estimated the mortgage/tax/insurance/water will total about $1750, Currently both units are rented with a total rental income of $2350, although I may decide to raise rents slightly. That would mean a profit of $600/month or 34%. Thats without putting any estimate for additional required maintenance. Would you pull the trigger on this deal based on this info and what other considerations am I missing?

Look forward to hearing some of your feedback!

@Peter Vuong

A couple of issues I see:

-- Only $10K down on a $260K property is about 3.5%, so I'm assuming you're counting on an FHA loan, but according to their website, you must be an owner occupant so you either won't be able to rent both units or you won't be able to get that loan. As an investor, your interest rate will probably be a point or so higher and you'll probably need 20% or more down. (If you have another loan source, please share with everyone).