Motivated investor

6 Replies

Hi all, I am a novice but highly motivated to be an investor in apartment building -my spouse & me have some cash assets around half a million dollars - my question to all the experienced & senior members is if it is possible to buy an apartment building of more than 15- 20 units worth at least a million dollars as investment - We have no prior experience with real estate nor did I have had any mortgage , never bought any SFH - Only started reading more & more about real estate now - getting lot of knowledge from different forums here - will appreciate any help on how to proceed

Hi Jayant,

FIRST do not do anything hasty with your money.

It's not just about cash down but your net worth and liquidity. You determine this by filling out a financial statement showing all your assets and liabilities. This shows the strength of your balance sheet to a lender when looking at getting a loan.

Next you need to answer what are your expectations pre-tax for cash flow annually?? Is it 10%, 15,% 20% off your 500k cash investment??

It's easy to buy into a bad deal. It's HARD to get out of it. Multifamily might not even be right for you. Until you tell us more about what you are trying to do with investing it's difficult to comment further. 

For a million dollars, you should be able to find properties with more than 15-20 units (depending on the market of course). I personally would start out smaller, however and learn. But to each his own. I'm just now starting to think about larger sized apartment buildings after 10 years of owning 3 and 4 unit properties.

@Joel Owens Are there any rough guidelines as to what commercial lenders look for from borrowers in terms of net worth and liquidity? For example, if you purchase a property for $1,000,000 with $250,000, any idea what the guidelines would be. I've also heard that a primary residence does not count towards net worth in the eyes of most lenders. Do you know if that's usually the case? Thanks!