• Marietta, GA
Votes |
New Home Construction Check list

Isrrael Mendoza
  • Realtor
  • Marietta, GA
Posted Jun 7 2022, 22:18

Hello All, 

A friend of mine recently purchased some land. Since purchasing the land he’s been contemplating the idea of constructing a home. 

He’s asked me for help on his hoke construction journey since I’m a recently licensed Realtor. However I’m afraid I’ll be learning on the fly. I am not familiar with this process.

So, this is what I know so far. 

1) zoning -> checked out, he will be able to build his home on his land.

2) building permit -> in order to get a building permit he’ll need a survey done.

3) survey - before we get the survey we will first find out the integrity of the soil by preforming a Soil Test.

4) Soil Test -> after completing the soil test a Perc Test would be needed for the septic tank. 

5) Perc Test -> required for septic tank 

note, the piece of land does not have  a sewer line so a septic tank is needed…. And if a septic tank is needed a soil test is needed. 

So what I am asking for is advice and/or a heads up on any steps I may encounter for this new construction. Any and all feedback will be greatly appreciated. 

-Isrrael Mendoza

User Stats

Votes
Holly Barrett
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Dawsonville, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Dawsonville, GA
Replied Jun 21 2022, 20:01

Hey Isrrael, I am currently in the process of builing a custom home in Dawson County. I'm also a realtor. The above items look right, although in Dawson County you do not need a survey, a plat is sufficient, perhaps it's different in the county your client is building in though. 

Beyond that, I'm assuming he'll be using a GC and/or architect? They will really be the ones to guide them through the process. 

If he wants to do DIY, that's a whole other can of worms, if he's going to finance through a bank they typically require a licensed GC to manage the project.

I hope that helps!

User Stats

Votes
Michael Luczka