• Developer
  • Jacksonville Florida
Votes |
How to make sausage in 10 easy steps

Steve Mandelbaum
  • Developer
  • Jacksonville Florida
Posted Oct 5 2022, 16:22

Thanks for clicking.  NO, I am not actually going to make sausage.

I am a local developer in Jacksonville, FL and I am going to show you what it actually takes to construct a Build For Rent house in Jacksonville, FL.  I doubt it will be completed in 10 steps, but it was a good headline.  All the tasks and subtasks will far exceed the 10 steps!  Buckle up it will be a fun ride...

I have 4 lots on the North Side of Jacksonville and will be constructing 4 identical houses, there are 2 lefts and 2 rights.  The houses are 3/2 with a garage, 1293 sq ft heated, and cooled,  total square footage 1693 with garage and porch.

My goal is to have the first house completed by April 1, 2023.

User Stats

Votes
Scott Mac
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
  • Austin, TX
Replied Oct 5 2022, 19:11

Hi Steve,

It looks like an easy-peasy build, no jut outs, simple roof line.

Just some of my thoughts--not suggestions.

[1] Will 4 identical homes lower the value of the homes vs. 4 similar-ish fronts and similar-ish sq ft, so as to appear less low scale?

Or do you think it will not matter?

[2] Will the value be more with the [1] car garage or that space as an extra room 20' x 12'-ish?

[3] Small houses equal no stroage space--will you also build sheds to improve the appeal?

[4] Will you use different window mullens, doors, trim and main colors to differentiate the homes, vs. all one type?

[5] Will you use colored standing seam metal on the porch roof to make it look modern or shingles?

[6] Is this going to be a Hardi-board type exterior or vinyl siding?

[7] Are you spec-ing any 24" doors (people like to eat), or is that SOP in the area (because to me the front door looks kind of slim).

I think it's a GREAT design.