Skip to content
Land & New Construction

User Stats

Votes
Daniel Alfandre
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Maryland
Votes |
As a GC, which materials do you let the subs purchase?

Daniel Alfandre
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Maryland
Posted Oct 15 2022, 13:15

I'm going to build a house.  When I worked as a construction manager for a homebuilder several years ago, we ordered the lumber, windows, doors, stairs/railings, garage doors, trim, cabinets, lighting, appliances, vanities, floors, paint, and other finishes.   We let the mechanicals (elec, plumbing, HVAC) provide the wires, tubes, duct, etc. for the rough-in stuff.  Any other material-management approaches anyone's taken that works well?

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Oct 15 2022, 13:44

@Daniel Alfandre

Varies by location but when we were building items we purchased were:

Trim and base

Appliances

Siding

Doors and hardware

Paint

Most of the other items we let the trades carry for warranty / installation vs product issues

User Stats

Votes
Jared Hottle
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cedar falls IA Waterloo, IA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cedar falls IA Waterloo, IA
Replied Oct 21 2022, 06:55

@Daniel Alfandre

This is the exact approach we take. Most all of our carpentry, paint and flooring materials we will buy up front to protect us, to ensure quality, and to get our 11% menards rebates lol. Also opens the door for buying and storing sale items or Restore purchases which probably saves us on average 1000-2000 per BRRR deal.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Mike Smith
Pro Member
  • Boise, ID
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Boise, ID
Replied Oct 26 2022, 12:06