User Stats

Votes
Troy Takamoto
Votes |
Permitting - Thinking about buying unpermitted houses

Troy Takamoto
Posted Nov 25 2022, 12:06

Hi BP,

I'm new to the bigger pockets forums.  I found a lender sale with 4 single family homes and 1 duplex.  Just did the walk-thru and the homes are about 90% complete.  After the walk-thru, I found out that all the single family homes were built unpermitted.   The unpermitted houses are above ground and has an attic so easy access to check wiring and plumbing.  

Does anyone have experience with getting the permits and home inspection after the fact?   How much it would cost?  What steps do I need to take?  

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.  

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Nov 25 2022, 12:18

@Troy Takamoto

I would absolutely speak to local authorities as we looked at one in my area and it would have been easier to knock down and start over.

Remember it’s more than just electrical and plumbing - foundation compaction, concrete strength, framing etc.

I would not touch them

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Nov 25 2022, 21:10

Make sure they're not red tagged. Get a city inspector to walk the property and tell you what the repairs to bring up to code entail 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Joel Bongco
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Mililani, HI
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Mililani, HI
Replied Mar 8 2023, 23:53