• San Diego, CA
Votes |
Affordable / bonus ADU program in San Diego

Nate Wiger
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • San Diego, CA
Posted Nov 30 2022, 18:37

I've been looking into the low income bonus ADU program and it seems if you buy a reasonably priced SFR with a good sized yard, you can construct at least 2 but up to an almost unlimited number of ADUs in a transit priority zone if you designate 50% of them as low income. Essentially build row homes in an SFR zone. Summary from the SD Housing Commission

Is anyone experimenting with this? 

User Stats

Votes
Jason Strom
  • Lender
  • San Diego, CA
Votes |
  • Lender
  • San Diego, CA
Replied Dec 1 2022, 11:15

I'm also interested in hearing about this strategy. Thanks for the question Nate!

User Stats

Votes
Replied Dec 1 2022, 16:37

I'm a MF broker and am currently evaluating multiple projects throughout the county with ADU & affordable aspects.

There are tons of projects in the works, with a few that have hit the market recently. The extent to which you can leverage the ADU laws and new legislation is mind-blowing.  There will be many angry neighbors in the years to come, but it will be a critical part in adding more units to the county. Feel free to reach out if you have any more questions. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Whitney Hill
  • Contractor
  • San Diego, CA
Votes |
  • Contractor
  • San Diego, CA
Replied Dec 2 2022, 11:39

To share some numbers on how many projects are being submitted with multiple units... see below data on the permit applications for City of San Diego, which is a combo of public data + our analysis on text fields describing the projects (to extract things like unit counts... it's directional, not perfect data). Note the status options:

"In Review" = submitted and in plan check