How to start a new construction

16 Replies

Hi, I am new to this but it looks like this is the place to start.  

I have a wooded lot in Deltona right off I-4 by a small lake.  It is in a developed community so the water and electricity should be in place.  I am thinking to apply for a loan to build a house on it and sell it for profit.  I have never done anything like it and I don't know any GC's or construction companies.  Could someone please tell me if this thinking makes any sense. If so, what is the step by step procedures I need to follow to get this started? Is there a special consideration involved since it's by a lake?

My apology I'm a newbie and still learning the lingos here.  Thank you in advance.

first.   There are a thousand things you need to know.

1. What are the covenants for the property

2. Who approves the planned project in the community

3. Find a plan that will work

4. Talk to you local Home Builders Association, bankers, local lumber yards, to find a reputable GC. 

He/she will have tons of excellent references, all licenses, and insurance. Don't get scammed. DO NOT believe what the GC says about themselves, listen to several people they have built for and worked for.  To me this may be the most critical. If you get a bad GC you will have the worst nightmare.

Pay the GC extra to walk you throughout the building process(basically share the builder profit with him).

You can do this, but it won't be easy. A lot to learn. A lot to manage.

I hate to say it but with zero  experience in  development, or real estate for that matter, it would be near impossible to obtain financing from a bank without a huge amount of skin in the game, like 40-50% or more.  First step, call around to banks and run your situation by them.  You will get a good idea of your options after a few calls.  

Good luck.

Do not try to do this by yourself the first time.  You are very certain to get yourself into a very expensive and possibly unrecoverable mess.