Atlanta Townhouse Development

12 Replies

Hi guys, 

I'm an Architect in the Atlanta, GA area. I'm interested in buying up some land and developing townhomes on it. 

One potential option would be to develop multiple units and live in one of them. I assume that would allow me to get a lower downpayment on the loan? I'm not really interested in becoming a landlord, so I'd rather sell the units. This would be my first solo development, so I'd probably be just limited to a few units. My assumption is there's some economy in developing multiple units vs just one or two?

The only real estate experience I have is what I learn from developers that we work for. 

Any advice to whether this is a good idea or how to get it jump started? Does anyone have a similar proforma they would be willing to share? 

Welcome to BP this is a great form. Lots to learn take your time and go through everything with a fine toothed comb.

Other than what you've already stated have you had exeperience in project management on a rehab yet?

What areas areas in ATL are you interested in? 

I assume you have your stamp, as you stated you are a architect, if so do you have experience pulling permits?

Are you interested in a possible joint venture (JV)?

@Davon Lowery I have experience on the Architecture / Construction side of things. I'm looking to expand my knowledge into the development side of things now.

I don't, currently, have a particular area of Atlanta in mind. My firm does mostly large Mutlifamily projects all across the nation. The ones we're doing in Atlanta are mostly in the midtown area. I'm open to other areas of Atlanta as well.

I do have my stamp. I'm currently licensed in Washington, DC, but I'm able to gain reciprocity in any state in the US.

I'd be open to a Joint Venture. What'd you have in mind?

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place